Habitat Edmonton celebrated our wonderful volunteers!

Volunteers are vital to the success of Habitat for Humanity. With their support, we continue to empower through affordable homeownership, providing a hand-up to Albertans so they can take control of their future. In 2023, 900 volunteers donated their time, collectively logging over 35,000 volunteer hours. As a result, 43 families became homeowners, who are now building strength, stability, and self-reliance.

On April 18, we celebrated our volunteers’ dedication and unwavering support. Our theme was western, so everyone dressed in their cowboy finest to enjoy food, drinks, and of course, good company. We also welcomed Servus Credit Union, presenting sponsor of our volunteer program. They have committed to providing funding for our volunteer program through 2025.

We recognized the following individuals and their milestone volunteer achievements in 2023:

150 Volunteer Hours: Neil Watkins, Irwin Drefs, Darryl Tront, David Jordan, Zola Dandy Kibanga, Elaine Wagner, Paul Meade-Clift, Joe Sharma, Ogo Maduekwe, Colin Mackenzie, Kelly Gilliland, Geoff Baxter, Mike DeLong, Philip Merry, Jim Matheson, Haroon Siddique, Gebremedhin Zegeye, Chris Davies, Tadesse Zerihun, Alisha Lesjak, Amanda Alleyne, Laratu Barrie, Edgar Wierstra, Timour Beglov, Jack McLean, Michael Trottierm, Faysal Ibrahim, Fiona Munro, Max Vandersteen, Debasmita Bag, Emily Sexton, Antoninus Kimani, John Nelson, Inez Smith, Larry Davis, Larry Webber, Bill Webb, Henry Zverev, Brett Yuzyk-Sullivan, Ma Crisvir Lagare, Patrick Robertson, Toni Lasell, Joel Mohr, Dante Bremner, Lidiia Nedilko, Dane Mckay

500+ Volunteer Hours: Reno Laseur, Rick Delorme, Hank Fast, Gerry Borle, Ted McClung, Don Neufeld

3 Years of Volunteer Service: Larry Davis, Catherine Keill, Chuck Ham, Al Stempfle

5 Years of Volunteer Service: Jack McLean, Lindsay Smith, Kevin Cathro, Colin Lipsett, Inez Smith

Special Contribution: Rick Delorme.

ReStore South Award of Excellence: Joe Sharma 

ReStore North Award of Excellence: Michael Trottier

ReStore West Award of Excellence: Edgar Wierstra

ReStore Sherwood Park Award of Excellence: Jack McLean 

Construction Award of Excellence: John Nelson

Habitat Canada Certificate of Recognition: Reno Laseur

10 Years of Volunteer Service: Fiona Munro, Patrick Robertson, Amy Chetwynd

20 Years of Volunteer Service: Ted McClung

Group Volunteer Award: REALTORS® Community Foundation

Don Neufeld Outstanding Volunteer: Geoff Baxter

Thank you to our fantastic volunteers!

More articles